18 May 2019

    Canon Hongkong collaborates with People Service Centre to prepare lunch boxes

    to show the appreciation to food donors

    Canon Hongkong Corporate Volunteer Team partnered with the beneficiary families to prepare 40 lunch boxes.

    Canon Hongkong Corporate Volunteer Team supports People Service Centre giving Regular Service on Surplus Market Food Collection since June 2016. Our volunteers formed small team to collect surplus food from fresh market and re-distributed to the needy in Kowloon City district. Until May 2019, the regular service achieved over 2000 service hours and rescued more than 80,000 kg leftovers and serve in a regular basis of four days per week (every Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday). 


    On 18 May 2019, CHK organized an extension service called “Surplus Food for Love”. Our team formed 10 groups together with Ma Tau Wai Estate beneficiary families, making lunch boxes with surplus food connected while enjoying cooking with them. Our volunteers can be able to understand beneficiary family’s daily life and show our care to them. Our team then deliver warmhearted lunch boxes to food donors in the Kowloon City fresh market in order to show the appreciation to these food donors.

    ​​​​​​​
    ​​​​​​​About People Service Centre - Food Friend Action 
    ​​​​​​​
    ​​​​​​​The Food Recycle Project started in Shum Shui Po district in 2011, extended the service to Wong Tai Sin, Kowloon City and Tuen Mun district in 2013 and to Yau Tsim Mong district in 2014. The purpose of the project is to collect surplus food, redistribute to the needy families and avoid food waste. The project also extended its scope to help the elderlies forming mutual aid network, keeping the elderlies to have connection with the society and receive the care from the community.

    Activity Highlights

2019年5月18日

    佳能香港與民社合力製作愛心飯盒轉贈長期捐贈食物的檔主

    佳能香港企業義工隊與街坊合力完成四十個愛心飯盒

    佳能香港義工隊自2016年6月起,一直長期支持及參與民社服務中心「糧友行動」九龍城區街市食物回收計劃的恆常義工服務,持續逢星期一、三、四、五組成三人小隊,在九龍城區街市及馬頭圍邨協助收集、處理及派發街市食物。直至2019年5月,恆常義工服務共累積了超過2000小時服務時數及回收了超過80,000公斤剩菜。


    義工隊於2019年5月18日舉辦一項名為「剩菜盛愛」的延伸活動。活動當日義工與馬頭圍邨街坊分成十組,每組要運用回收的剩菜製作成精美的愛心飯盒。義工們有去到街坊家中與他們合作烹調美食,了解街坊的日常生活及表達對他們的關懷。義工更將四十個飯盒送到九龍城街市轉贈俾檔主,感謝他們一直慷慨轉贈食物。


    關於民社服務中心「糧友行動」食物回收助人計劃
    ​​​​​​​
    ​​​​​​​此計劃由2011年4月起在深水埗區開始服務,於2013年拓展至黃大仙、九龍城及屯門區,更於2014年推展到油尖旺區。計劃目標是收集剩餘食物,分發予區內有需要家庭,減少食物被棄置堆填區及浪費。食物回收的服務亦包括為區內長者建立關懷及互助網絡,讓長者與社會不同階層人士保持連繫及深切體會社區人士的關懷。

    活動回顧