30 Jun 2018

    236 Schools Collecting Over 10,000 Used Ink Cartridges Contributing to
    Canon x McDull Ink Cartridge Recycling Program


    Canon Hongkong Company Limited (CHK) organized the 7th Canon x McDull Inter-school Ink Cartridge Recycling Award Presentation Ceremony at the Fortune Metropolis in Hung Hom on 30th June 2018, to commend 10 schools for their outstanding participation in the competition. Meanwhile, 3 winning schools were invited to perform at the ceremony, including Holy Angels Canossian School, CCC Kei Wai Primary School (Ma Wan) and Baptist Lui Ming Choi Primary School. Instant Photo Shoot Corner and Canon Creative Park Workshop were arranged to let participants enjoy a delighting afternoon and express their creativity through making different kinds of 3D paper artworks.

    In line with Canon’s corporate philosophy “Kyosei”, CHK advocates a green product lifecycle in every process of our operations. Since 2009, CHK launched “Ink Cartridge Recycling Programme” in town and invited the famous cartoon character “McDull” as the Programme’s ambassador. There are currently over 290 recycling boxes in the territories to facilitate collections of used ink cartridges.

    Canon believes the young generation group definitively plays an important role towards ‘sustainable development’. In 2011, CHK introduced the Ink Cartridge Recycling Program to local education sector and debuted “Canon x McDull Inter-school Ink Cartridge Recycling Competition” for local primary and secondary schools. In order to further promote the concept of recycling in all-rounded perspectives among schools, CHK partnering with Business Environment Council co-arranged 25 sessions of “Environmental Seminar” for the participating schools.

    In the academic year of 2017-18, there are a total of 236 schools joining the “Inter-school Ink Cartridge Recycling Competition”, with 10,000 ink cartridges being collected and recycled. The honourable award presenter of award ceremony: Ms. Candy Mau – Assistant Director of Corporate Communications Division, expressed her sincere gratitude to all participating schools and students for their keen support, which is vital for the wide spread of the message of ink cartridge recycling among schools in Hong Kong.

    The collected ink cartridges are not used for re-filling of ink but decomposed into 4 parts: metal (4%), plastic (87.7%) ink residual (6.6%) and sponge (1.7%). All metals and plastics would be used as raw materials of other products. Although ink residual and sponge would be disposed, their much compressed sizes would much reduce burden to the landfills. Since launch and updated as of June 2018, the Programme has collected over 180,000 pcs of ink cartridges, recycled over 5.2 tons of plastics. It helps reducing over 6.7 tons of CO2 emission, which requires 292 trees to absorb in a year.

     

     


    Group photo of all winning schools’ representatives.

     

              
    Instant Photo Shoot Corner and Canon Creative Park Workshop were arranged to let participants enjoy a delighting afternoon.

     

     

    ​​​
       

    Student representatives of Holy Angels Canossian School performed jazz dance to kick off the ceremony.                                                          

      The Western dance "Napoli" was performed by CCC Kei Wai Primary School (Ma Wan) that intensified the atmosphere in the ceremony.  


    Trumpet performance by Baptist Lui Ming Choi Primary School enriched the whole ceremony.

    The 7th Canon x McDull Inter-school Ink Cartridge Recycling Competition ─ Award List

    The Highest No. of Recycled Ink Cartridges The Highest No. of Recycled Ink Cartridges Per Head
    1st Prize CCC Kei Wai Primary School (Ma Wan)
    1st Prize Holy Angels Canossian School
    2nd Prize Baptist Lui Ming Choi Primary School
    2nd Prize Kowloon Tong School (Primary Section)
    3rd Prize Pui Ching Primary School
    3rd Prize Pui Ching Primary School
    4th Prize Creative Primary School
    4th Prize St. Mary's Canossian School
    5th Prize Cognitio College (Kowloon)
    5th Prize TWGHs Kwok Yat Wai College

     

    About Canon Hongkong Company Limited

    Canon Inc. (TSE:7751 / NYSE:CAJ) was founded in 1937 in Japan. Its predecessor, Precision Optical Instruments Laboratory, produced Japan's first 35 mm focal-plane-shutter camera “Kwanon” in 1934. Canon Inc. eventually expanded into the photocopying and printing industries, launching Japan's first plain-paper copier NP-1100 in 1970 and the world's first inkjet printer BJ-80 in 1985. Through the years, Canon Inc. has acquired in-depth experience in digital imaging product manufacturing, and research and development. It i s a leader in the development of innovative products and holds the most technology patents in the imaging industry. Canon Inc. also makes a significant contribution to the promotion of photography. Today, Canon Inc. has a strong global presence and is one of the most important market players in the imaging, office and industrial product categories. As of 31 December 2017, Canon's global revenue was US$36.1 billion.

    One of the company’s first offices in Asia, Canon Hongkong Co., Ltd. (CHK) was established in 1971. It is responsible for the sales, marketing and after-sales services for all Canon product lines in Hong Kong and Macau. CHK adheres to Canon’s corporate philosophy of “kyosei”, which encourages the company and its staff to participate in social, charitable and environmental activities in the community. CHK implements internationally-recognized management systems and has achieved ISO 9001, ISO 14001, ISO 27001 (Canon Digital Production Center) and OHSAS 18001 certification. For more information about Canon Hongkong, please visit our website: www.canon.com.hk.

2018年6月30日

    236間學校響應全港墨兜回收校獎賽
    回收越10,000個已用完的噴墨打印機墨水匣


    佳能香港有限公司(佳能香港)於 2018年6月30日假紅磡置富都會舉辦第七屆全港墨兜回收校獎賽頒獎典禮,表揚一眾積極參與回收的學校。除頒獎典禮外,大會邀請其中三間得獎學校到場表演,包括天神嘉諾撒學校、中華基督教會基慧小學(馬灣)及浸信會呂明才小學,為頒獎典禮生色不少。現場更設有「麥兜開心大合照」即拍即印活動及Canon Creative Park創意紙藝工作坊,讓到場的大小朋友發揮創意,製作多款不同類型的立體紙藝,一同渡過愉快又充實的下午。

    佳能香港作為具社會責任的企業公民,在「共生」的企業理念下,一直提倡綠色產品週期。有見及此,佳能香港自2009年起推出「墨匣回收計劃」,由港人熟悉的「麥兜」擔任項目大使,並於港九各區設置愈290個回收箱,鼓勵大眾回收已用完的噴墨打印機墨水匣(簡稱「墨兜」)。

    佳能堅信年青一代是推動社會,持續推行環保工作的重要一環。要達到環境保護的目標,必須「從小做起」。由2011年開始,佳能香港將「墨匣回收計劃」推廣至學界,舉辦「全港墨兜回收校獎賽」,並聯同商界環保協會為參與學校安排共25場「環保專題講座」,務求全方位將循環再造的概念帶進校園,與全港學界一同支持環保。

    於2017-18年度,共有236間學校參與「全港墨兜回收校獎賽」,收集超過10,000個墨兜作循環再造,反應非常踴躍。佳能香港企業傳訊部副總監繆凱甄小姐擔任頒獎嘉賓,藉此機會感謝所有參賽學校及學生的踴躍支持,令墨兜回收的訊息可以傳遍全港校園。

    而回收的墨兜並非用作添加墨水之用,而是被送到廠房分解。其中的金屬(4%)及塑膠部分(87.7%)可循環再造,造成其他有用物件,餘下的少量墨水(6.6%)及海綿(1.7%)雖然會被棄置,但經壓縮的體積已能大大減低堆填區的負荷。截至2018年6月,「墨匣回收計劃」已收集愈180,000個墨兜,回收逾5.2噸塑膠,可減少超過6.7噸的二氧化碳排放量,相當於292棵樹一年所吸收的二氧化碳量。

    全港墨兜回收校獎賽

     


    得獎學校師生大合照。

             
    現場設有「麥兜開心大合照」即拍即印活動及Canon Creative Park創意紙藝工作坊,吸引不少得獎學校學生及家長參加。

     

       

      

         
    於頒獎禮開始前,天神嘉諾撒學校的鄧睿、李依庭、張心喬、何幸芙、陳梓昕及蔡可知同學表演爵士舞,為頒獎禮揭開序幕。   中華基督教會基慧小學(馬灣)的梁凱晴及林潔心同學為大家表演表演西方舞蹈「拿波里搖鼓舞」,帶動現場氣氛。  


    浸信會呂明才小學的鄺顯曦同學表演吹奏小號,為頒獎禮生色不少。

    第七屆全港墨兜回收校獎賽 ─ 得獎名單

    回收最多墨兜(任何品牌)得獎學校 最高回收人均比例獎
    第一名 中華基督教會基慧小學(馬灣)
    第一名 天神嘉諾撒學校
    第二名 浸信會呂明才小學
    第二名 九龍塘學校(小學部)
    第三名 香港培正小學
    第三名 匡智翠林晨崗學校
    第四名 啟思小學
    第四名 嘉諾撒聖瑪利學校
    第五名 文理書院(九龍)
    第五名 東華三院郭一葦中學

    關於佳能香港有限公司

    佳能總公司(TSE:7751 / NYSE:CAJ)於1937年於日本創立,其前身東京精機光學研究所於1934年生產日本首部35mm焦平面快門相機Kwanon。公司成立後更將業務推廣至打印機及影印機,並先後於1970年推出日本首台影印機NP-1100,以及於1985年推出全球第一部噴墨打印機BJ-80。多年來,佳能在光學影像產品的生產和研發方面累積了豐富的經驗,不斷帶領業界開發突破性的產品,不但成為業內擁有最多光學影像專利的科技公司,亦為推動攝影文化作出卓越的貢獻。時至今日,佳能業務遍佈全球,在影像產品、辦公產品以及工業產品等領域均佔有重要位置。截至2017年12月31日,佳能總公司全球的營業總額高達361億美元。

    佳能香港有限公司(下稱「佳能香港」)於1971年成立,是佳能總公司在亞洲最早成立的海外辦事處。佳能香港負責所有於香港及澳門的影像產品銷售、市場推廣及售後服務的工作。除銷售業務外,佳能香港致力實踐佳能的企業理念「共生」(Kyosei),積極推動及參與多項公益慈善及環保活動。此外,佳能香港實行國際公認的管理體系,獲得ISO 9001、ISO 14001、ISO 27001(佳能數碼製作中心)及OHSAS 18001認證。如欲查閱更多關於佳能香港的資訊,請瀏覽官方網站 www.canon.com.hk.